chula vista elite athlete training center

chula vista elite athlete training center

Australia Women’s National Rugby Sevens Team’s in the U.S.

By Nick Gasparro, Operations Assistant CVEATC

Chula Vista, CA – The Australia Women’s National Rugby Sevens Team, commonly referred to as “The Aussie 7s” will be partaking in a week-long training camp at the Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center (CVEATC) from 3/6 – 3/12. During their stay at the CVEATC, the Aussie 7’s will be training, dining and sleeping overnight, capping it off with an on-site scrimmage versus our very own USA Women’s Eagle 7’s on Friday, March 11. Once their stay at the CVEATC comes to an end, the Aussie 7’s will head to Los Angeles and play matches in the historic L.A. Coliseum as part of a three-day training competition.

The Aussie 7s are the national women’s rugby sevens teams of Australia, competing in the Rugby Sevens World Cup, Olympics and the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series as one of the “core” teams on the world tour. They have won the HSBC World Rugby Seven Series on two separate occasions, 2016 and 2018, and won the inaugural Women’s Rugby Sevens gold medal at the 2016 Rio Summer Olympics. The CVEATC is delighted to welcome the Australia Women’s National Rugby Sevens Team to campus, and wish them the best of luck as they prepare for the final stretch of the 2022 HSBC World Rugby Seven Series.

“The Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Centre was the perfect venue for us to hold our National Camp. The facility caters for all the needs of a high performance team, the equipment and accommodation is fantastic and the meals are of a high quality and suit the needs of a performance team,” said Tim Walsh, Head Coach Australian Women’s 7’s. “The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend the Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Centre to any High Performance team for their camps.”

This March is Women’s History Month, a great opportunity to celebrate the history of women in the sport of rugby. The first women’s rugby union team was assembled in 1962 at Edinburgh University and the first rugby union match was played by Toulouse Femina Sports, a former French women’s rugby union club, in 1968, in front of thousands of spectators. The success of that event led to the formation of the first national association for women’s rugby union – the Association Francaise de Rugby Feminin (AFRF) in 1970. The first major women’s rugby tournament was the 1991 Women’s Rugby World Cup, which is played every four years. The World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series started up in 2012-13, which provides elite level women’s competition between rugby nations around the globe. Additionally, rugby as a sport was recently readmitted into the Olympics for the 2016 Rio games after a 92-year absence. This massive achievement for the sport will encourage more females and males to get involved with rugby, laying the ground work for a brighter future.

To learn more about the Aussie 7’s and their roster, follow the link below:

Australia Women’s Rugby Sevens

The Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center is set on 155 acres on south San Diego County, home to over 20 sports and a diversity of teams and athletes across Olympic, Paralympic, professional, collegiate and international countries. To learn more about training or groups events, visit